Left turn Clyde

As I’m reading the post from Unload and Rewind “Way to freak out bad drivers” it reminded me of an accident I was in about 18 yrs ago.

My ex-husband, my 2 year old son and I were coming up to an intersection where the turning light stays green for a few minutes then blinks to let you know it will be red soon and the oncoming traffic has a full green light.

I was watching all the lights, as I notice the first car across from us getting ready to turn left onto a one way street and the car behind her was speeding to get through the light. Our light was full green and the second car slammed right into the side of our car, making us slam into a electric box and the light pole.

The guy gets out of his car ranting and raving that we ran a red light and his insurance was going to have a hay day with us, as I come around the corner being around 7 mo. pregnant his jaw hit the ground and his whole demeanor changed, it helped that there were witnesses that saw… we were in the right.

The police came and took statements, gave us the other guys insurance information and proceeded to arrest the guy for wreckless driving, and tat if any physical complications came to me or the baby he would also be charged with vehicular assault.

I called my dad to come and pick us up seeings how our car was filed as totaled and was being towed, we did not have any other means of transportation at the time.

UPDATE: No permanent damage came to me or now my soon to be 21 year old son Donovan, nor his brother Camryn who is now 18.

Published by

star1975cj

I'm 41 and I'm in the process of trying to pursue my dreams of being a journalist.

Leave a comment